learning · lifestyle · travel

Connected to my roots in a Non-English Speaking county

About a year and half ago, my husband, my dog and I moved to Stuttgart. The whole thought of moving away from home itself was exciting. This was my first time in 29 yrs that I lived in another county let alone in another state. And into a Non- English Speaking Country!

At first I never paid too much attention to language, I’m from a place where English is the 1st language, with family, school, college, work! I ALWAYS used to wonder how can people not know English. It’s a global language.

I moved to Germany with a basic knowledge of German. While the thought of living in a non-English speaking country may be a little scary, it’s something that I urge you to try at least once in your life. Not only does it open your mind up to a whole new culture, but also enriches you in so many other ways too.

I moved with hope to get a job, live 2 years and go back to my homeland. Simple! Set plan and agenda.

Started sending out my resume to agencies and then the only reply I would get is, how well versed are you with Deutsch?! and I realised my little knowledge is not going to help me in anyway.

So, began my days of intensive German learning course. Learning German isn’t easy! There are many parts to it, I still waver when I speak to a Deutcher. It’s considered to be one of the toughest languages to learn. 

The Germans have known for a long time that their grammar is confusing, even for native speakers. Every noun in the German language is deemed masculine, feminine or neuter and is preceded by its appropriate article. Depending on a word’s “case,” or construction, Germans have more than a dozen different ways to say “the” and “a.” Even more mysterious are the verbs, which frequently reside at the end of a sentence or are split in half and placed as far away from one another as possible. And one must not forget the neverendingwordsthatareaboutthislong.

Given these complications, I realised that this is so much similar to Sanskrit, a language that I have studied before; Huge words, difficult to pronunce,  three genders, articles. So many words that are used in Sanskrit and in German too. Like chariot in Sanskrit is Ratha and in Deutsch it’s Rad, Radfarrd, Pinapple in Deutch is Ananas and in Sanskrit it’s Anasa. Which got me researching all about Indo German languages.

I found it quiet entrancing, what I had learnt 15yrs ago would actually come of use one day. Wondering in school everyday; how on earth an unspoken language will be of use to anyone! A little learning makes the whole world kin. 

Many mistakes later, I see a  drastic change between the pre- German girl and the post- German mädel. Learning a new language has left me with a lasting experience of a lifetime. 

Leave a Reply

